Skip to main content



Asian Communication Research

Asian Communication Research

Asian Communication Research (ACR) is an interdisciplinary and international journal that features cutting-edge research at the intersection of between the broadly conceived region of Asia and communication. As an official journal of the Korean Society for Journalism and Communication Studies(KSJCS), the premier academic association for communication scholars and journalism practitioners in Korea, the Journal publishes original research articles, essays, and book reviews that examine a broad range of issues related to Asian communication scholarship. It publishes three issues annually. ACR is the oldest all-in-English peer-reviewed journal in journalism and communication studies in Korea and is indexed in Korea Citation Index(KCI).

Editorial Board Members

The editorial board members of ACR include internationally well-known scholars and research experts whose research and academic contributions to the various fields of communication have been significance crosses disciplinary and sub-field boundaries. And the board members are able to keep the position for three years consequently. Inquiries and manuscript submissions should be sent to

Editor in Chief

Sungeun Chung, Sungkyunkwan University, Korea,

Associate Managing Editor
  • Daeun Jeong, Sungkyunkwan University, Korea,
Editorial Board Members
  • Crystal Anderson, George Mason University, USA
  • Deborah A. Cai, Temple University, USA
  • Hichang Cho, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Jihyang Choi, Ewha Womans University, Korea
  • Sujin Choi, Kyung Hee University, Korea
  • David Ewoldsen, Michigan State University, USA
  • Terry Flew, The University of Sydney, Australia
  • Jeong-Yeob Han, University of Georgia, USA
  • Seok-Kyeong Hong, Seoul National University, Korea
  • Ki Deuk Hyun, Akita International University, Japan
  • S Mo Jones-Jang, Boston College, USA
  • Joo-Young Jung, International Christian University, Japan
  • Seok Kang, The University of Texas at San Antonio, USA
  • Do Kyun David Kim, University of Louisiana at Lafayette, USA
  • Jinhee Kim, Pohang University of Science and Technology, Korea
  • Jung-Hyun Kim, Sogang University, Korea
  • Yong-Chan Kim, Yonsei University, Korea
  • Doohwang Lee, Kyung Hee University, Korea
  • Jae Kook Lee, Sungkyunkwan University, Korea
  • Sangjoon Lee, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • Hye-ryeon Lee, University of Hawaii, USA
  • Sohye Lim, Ewha Womans University, Korea
  • Nissim Otmazgin, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel
  • Sung-Yeon Park, University of Nevada, USA
  • Jongmin Park, Kyung Hee University, Korea
  • Doobo Shim, Sungshin Women’s University, Korea
  • Jiyeon So, Yonsei University, Korea
  • S. Shyam Sundar, Pennsylvania State University, USA
  • Sung Un Yang, Indiana University, USA
  • Sunny Yoon, Hanyang University, Korea
  • Gi Woong Yun, University of Nevada, USA
  • Frank A. Biocca, New Jersey Institute of Technology, USA
  • Christopher J. Carpenter, Western Illinois University, USA
  • Jaehee Cho, Sogang University, Korea
  • Sejung Marina Choi, Korea University, Korea
  • Myojung Chung, Northeastern University, USA
  • Edward L. Fink, Temple University, USA
  • Anthony Fung, Chinese University of Hong Kong, China
  • Kaori Hayashi, The University of Tokyo, Japan
  • Jisu Huh, University of Minnesota, USA
  • Dal Yong Jin, Simon Fraser University, Canada
  • Jaemin Jung, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Korea
  • Jiyeon Kang, The University of Iowa, USA
  • Michael Keane, Curtin University, Australia
  • Hye Kyung Kim, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • Ju Oak Kim, Texas A&M International University, USA
  • Minjeong Kim, Hankuk University of Foreign Studies, Korea
  • Chul-Joo Lee, Seoul National University, Korea
  • Eun-Ju Lee, Seoul National University, Korea
  • Kwan Min Lee, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • Sun Kyong (Sunny) Lee, The University of Oklahoma, USA
  • Roselyn J. Lee-Won, The Ohio State University, USA
  • Lan Ni, University of Houston, USA
  • Han Woo Park, Yeungnam University, Korea
  • Hee Sun Park, Korea University, Korea
  • Soomin Seo, Temple University, USA
  • Jae-chul Shim, Korea University, Korea
  • Dongyoung Sohn, Hanyang University, Korea
  • Moniza Waheed, Universiti Putra Malaysia, Malaysia
  • Irene Fang-chih Yang, National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan
  • Tae-Il Yoon, Hallym University, Korea
  • Weiyu Zhang, National University of Singapore, Singapore