Skip to main content


Asian Communication Research

Asian Communication Research

Asian Communication Research (ACR) is a refereed international publication that features cutting-edge scholarship in all areas of communication with a focus on Asian contexts, while contributing to understanding of communication phenomena around the world. ACR is published by Korean Society for Journalism and Communication Studies (KSJCS) three times a year, in May 30, September 30, and December 30.

ACR welcomes original research articles, theoretical and methodological essays, and book reviews. This journal has a continuous publication schedule throughout a year. We start the review process for each paper once we receive a paper, and accepted papers will be published in the earliest issue. ACR’s new homepage and online review system are now under construction. For the time being, we receive papers through e-mail (

Indexed by Korean Citation Index (KCI)
ISSN 1738-2084 (Print)
ISSN 2765-3390 (Online)

Editor-in-Chief: Sungeun Chung (Sungkyunkwan University, Korea)

  • Sungeun Chung, Sungkyunkwan University, Korea,
Associate Editors
  • Borae Jin, Joongbu University, Korea,
  • Kyun Soo Kim, Chonnam National University, Korea,
  • Minsun Shim, Inha University, Korea,
Associate Managing Editor
  • Daeun Jeong, Sungkyunkwan University, Korea,
Editorial Board Members
  • Frank A. Biocca, New Jersey Institute of Technology, USA
  • Deborah A. Cai, Temple University, USA
  • Christopher J. Carpenter, Western Illinois University, USA
  • Hichang Cho, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Jaehee Cho, Sogang University, Korea
  • Jihyang Choi, Ewha Womans University, Korea
  • Sejung Marina Choi, Korea University, Korea
  • Sujin Choi, Kyung Hee University, Korea
  • Myojung Chung, Northeastern University, USA
  • David Ewoldsen, Michigan State University, USA
  • Edward L. Fink, Temple University, USA
  • Terry Flew, The University of Sydney, Australia
  • Anthony Fung, Chinese University of Hong Kong, China
  • Jeong-Yeob Han, University of Georgia, USA
  • Kaori Hayashi, The University of Tokyo, Japan
  • Seok-Kyeong Hong, Seoul National University, Korea
  • Jisu Huh, University of Minnesota, USA
  • Ki Deuk Hyun, Akita International University, Japan
  • Dal Yong Jin, Simon Fraser University, Canada
  • S Mo Jones-Jang, Boston College, USA
  • Jaemin Jung, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Korea
  • Joo-Young Jung, International Christian University, Japan
  • Jiyeon Kang, The University of Iowa, USA
  • Seok Kang, The University of Texas at San Antonio, USA
  • Michael Keane, Curtin University, Australia
  • Do Kyun David Kim, University of Louisiana at Lafayette, USA
  • Hye Kyung Kim, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • Jinhee Kim, Pohang University of Science and Technology, Korea
  • Ju Oak Kim, Texas A&M International University, USA
  • Jung-Hyun Kim, Sogang University, Korea
  • Minjeong Kim, Hankuk University of Foreign Studies, Korea
  • Yong-Chan Kim, Yonsei University, Korea
  • Chul-Joo Lee, Seoul National University, Korea
  • Doohwang Lee, Kyung Hee University, Korea
  • Eun-Ju Lee, Seoul National University, Korea
  • Jae Kook Lee, Sungkyunkwan University, Korea
  • Kwan Min Lee, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • Sangjoon Lee, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • Sun Kyong (Sunny) Lee, The University of Oklahoma, USA
  • Hye-ryeon Lee, University of Hawaii, USA
  • Roselyn J. Lee-Won, The Ohio State University, USA
  • Sohye Lim, Ewha Womans University, Korea
  • Lan Ni, University of Houston, USA
  • Nissim Otmazgin, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel
  • Han Woo Park, Yeungnam University, Korea
  • Sung-Yeon Park, University of Nevada, USA
  • Hee Sun Park, Korea University, Korea
  • Jongmin Park, Kyung Hee University, Korea
  • Soomin Seo, Temple University, USA
  • Doobo Shim, Sungshin Women’s University, Korea
  • Jae-chul Shim, Korea University, Korea
  • Jiyeon So, Yonsei University, Korea
  • Dongyoung Sohn, Hanyang University, Korea
  • S. Shyam Sundar, Pennsylvania State University, USA
  • Moniza Waheed, Universiti Putra Malaysia, Malaysia
  • Sung Un Yang, Indiana University, USA
  • Irene Fang-chih Yang, National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan
  • Sunny Yoon, Hanyang University, Korea
  • Tae-Il Yoon, Hallym University, Korea
  • Gi Woong Yun, University of Nevada, USA
  • Weiyu Zhang, National University of Singapore, Singapore